The Dogs – Part 1

It’s been a year since I got my dogs, after over 20 years being pet-less. Well, except for the bird and the fish. The bird flew away and the fish don’t play with me, so I don’t think they really count.

It took numerous discussions in our household to accomplish this major lifestyle change. NUMEROUS. Some heated.

Everyone had an opinion.

Mine was the only one that actually counted.

After finally agreeing to dogs, we had to pick dogs. I wanted a German Shepherd. Since the entire reason we were getting dogs was because I fought long and hard for them, I was going to get my Shepherd. Period.

“But I want a pretty dog” my husband said. What? Shepherds are gorgeous dogs! What is he talking about. “I want a Husky.” he added.

So I go online and read about my Shepherd (because we ARE getting the Shepherd no matter what he says) and about HIS Husky.

“You realize this dog will be difficult to manage.” I point out.

“Look at their colors, look at those eyes, they are beautiful.” That’s what he said.

So to make a long story short, after researching until I knew more about dogs than I did about my kids, we finally agreed to get BOTH.

I got lucky and found puppies for both breeds fairly close to us and we went and picked them out. They were five days apart in age. Perfect! They’ll be lifelong partners. They’ll play together and amuse each other. They’ll never be lonely. They’ll be so much fun!

Good idea? Not so much.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the dogs. The kids love the dogs. The husband regrets the decision every, single day. He likes dogs, he just doesn’t want the responsibility.

So in the beginning, there was poop and vomit and most of the time the poop was really diarrhea.

In the house of course.

On the carpet.

Fortunately, it was mainly in their room. Yes, my dogs got their own room. It was empty because my daughter moved out, so why not? We setup their crates in there and left the room empty so they could play. And poop.

The poop was never intentional. We took them out and worked very hard to potty train them. It took about four months to get them to where they only occasionally did it in the house. By six months, we were almost poop-free.

Along the way we took them outside and let them pee and poop in the yard and we would occasionally leave them out there for a bit to play. In our beautiful yard with green grass, gorgeous shrubs and plants, and a pool.

It took them roughly two months to turn the grass brown.

They also ate the sprinkler heads, dug up the brown grass and attacked the bubblers around the shrubs, in addition to actually ripping chunks of leaves off the plants.

The bubblers were the most difficult part to figure out because we would have to wait until they came on to determine which ones were gone. Except for when the black plastic tubing was actually strewn out on the brown grass.

By the time they were six months old, the word “divorce” was used on a daily basis by my husband. Most of his other comments included the words “I hate dogs.” I learned to tune all of this out and keep working with the dogs to get them to behave better. I’ve been fairly successful, though I have slacked off a bit lately.

Oh, I haven’t shown you what they look like.

Skye – female – German Shepherd
Blu – male – White Siberian Husky

We’re still together and the dogs are still here.  I mean really, look at them.

All grown up now. Do they look like trouble makers?
This is where you can leave me a comment. Thanks!

