The Dogs – Part 2

It’s been almost 2 1/2 years since we got our dogs.  Hard to believe it’s been that long already.

No it isn’t, who am I kidding.

The dogs have taught me a lot and I’m very happy that we have them.

Skye has taught me that it doesn’t matter what time I go to bed, she will be whimpering by my bedroom door every morning at 7:30am, like clockwork.  Blu has taught me that when he paces in the house, he needs to go out and poop.  I’ve learned that they understand a lot more than I originally thought they would, so I am careful with the words ‘park, outside, play, treat, carrot, bye-bye, eat, ball.’  Those ears perk right up with these keywords, and I better not disappoint them and not follow through.  It can cost me a variety of things including chewed bathtub drain covers, blankets and bras.

They know when I’m happy or sad, and they do tend to adjust their behavior based on how I’m feeling.  If I’m in a bad mood, they find a comfy location and take a nap.  If I’m in a good mood, they are staring at me wondering when they will get to go out and play.

When we let them out in the backyard, we always worry that they will return to their old ways and start ripping up sprinklers, eating bushes and tinkling in the grass.  If left alone long enough, they probably would.  For the most part, they are pretty good and have fun, and only occasionally dig a little and rip WHOLE branches off the bushes.  Skye sticks her front paws in our pool and gets drinks.  Blu avoids it like the plague.

When we first got two dogs, it wasn’t easy.  It’s still a little extra work, because walking two 80 pound dogs isn’t as much fun as walking one.  They need to run and get their energy out first, and then they’ll walk.  I solve the problem by putting them in the car and driving them to the dog park where they can romp and play and I can walk peacefully around the park.  It’s a win-win.

In many ways I’m happy that we have two, since they do entertain each other and when I’m gone all day, they have companionship.  I can also take them out individually if I want, as long as the one staying home has someone with him/her.

I love my dogs and I look forward to spending a lot of great years with them.

This is where you can leave me a comment. Thanks!

