I Hate Laundry

It never ends. It’s there every day, no matter how often I do it.  Why won’t it go away?  Better yet, why do I have such a difficult time mastering it?

I can’t be the only person who hates to do laundry, at all levels.  I take that back.  I don’t mind putting the clothes in the washer, adding soap, playing with the cool digital controls and hitting ‘start.’

I have a nice high-efficiency top loader that we got last year.  It has lots of features and even plays a little tune at the end of the washing cycle rather than producing an annoying buzz.  My only complaint is that if you put too many clothes in it that have arms and legs (that would be all shirts and pants), they do tend to get a little wrapped up in each other.  More like twisted, snarled and tied, in ways that no human doing yoga could ever imagine.

I’ve learned to overcome the yoga poses in the machine and grab the right garments to easily get the knots out, so it really isn’t that big a deal anymore.

The clothes manage to get into dryer in a timely manner and it does a nice job of getting them ready for the next phase.

I call it the ‘sitting in the dryer’ phase.

For a couple of days.

Or more.

Maybe it’s the laundry basket that I hate, because once the clothes get there it means I need to do something with them.  I call this the ‘staging’ phase

Where they sit another day or two in the basket.

On top of the dryer.

Waiting to get folded, or put back in the dryer to be DE-wrinkled because I need to wear them again, whichever comes first.

Of course, there are days when staging doesn’t exist.  Clothes make it from the washer to the dryer, transfer to the laundry basket while still warm, make it to the bedroom, get dumped on the bed, folded immediately, then they make it to the ‘pre-final’ phase.

The top of the dresser.

90% of all clothes placed here will remain here.

Indefinitely.

They actually end up here in both the pre-final and ‘beginning’ phases.

The beginning phase is where you take the nice clean clothes from the pre-final phase, wear them, and then put them back on top of the dresser (in a new pile of course), where they wait to get to the ‘laundry room’ phase.

This can take a couple of weeks.

Or more.

I’m sure you’ve determined by now that I do have a pretty good system.  It works for me, even though I do get irritated with myself for rarely getting to the ‘completed’ phase, which is where the clothes make it to their designated locations, like the closet or actual drawers in the dresser.

But if I did that, I’d have nothing to write about.

This is where you can leave me a comment. Thanks!

